About

The new messaging procedures in the online courses requires that Student Support teams add themselves to a course on-demand only when they are required to review course content. You will no longer be enrolled in every course, but instead you can add yourself to any course at any time. You will find the procedure is actually more convenient than scrolling through 120 courses in your course list to find the course you need to review.

You can add yourself to any course to view the student progress or to review Instructor participation. Review the steps below:


1.To Start, open the System Admin tab
sysadmin.jpg

2.Click the Courses link to open the search screen.
courses.jpg

3.To search for the CRN of the section you need to view, switch the default search parameter from 'Course Name' to 'Course ID'
Searching for the CRN of the section is the most efficient way to access courses.
id.jpg

4.Switch the default search parameter from 'Starts with' to 'Contains'
conatin-id.jpg
5.Enter the CRN of the section. (Alternately you can search by the course number.)
CRN.jpg

6.Leave the 'Course Name' as the field to search. Switch the default search parameter from 'Starts with' to 'Contains'
contains.jpg

7.Enter the course number you want to view and click go.
go.jpg

8.Click the link to the course you want to enter from the list of results.
result.jpg

You will enter the course but will not yet have full rights to view all the content.

9.You must click 'quick enroll' to gain access to the gradebook and the discussion board.
enroll.jpg

10. When you are done with your review, just click the same button (now renamed to 'quick unenroll') to remove yourself from the course.
unernroll.jpg

You will need to remember to unenroll yourself each time you are finished with your review of a course or student. Leaving yourself enrolled will cause confusion for the students who will see you as an instructor.


Updated by Steven Quirk 10/30/13